Saturday Evening

Sitting in the middle of the back seat
I can see the entire road ahead of us
the car seeming to go faster than
it actually is
low humidity
75 degrees
we open the windows and the sun roof
luckily the setting sun does not set itself
on her face
and so
this weather and
this wind
reminds me of my carefree and
lackadaisical high school years
and all the pain and strife I might have 
suffered in that or any other instant
is washed away and I feel
clear
and 
cleansed
and whole
maybe even
holy–

Leave a Reply

