Still in the Womb

During my modified savasana,
my moment of peaceful relaxation,
with your soft music flowing in the background
and my settled mind continuing to drift away,
I saw myself watching my daughter
walking across the stage
amongst thousands of people
lights shining bright
and I felt,
if only for an instant,
the bittersweet longing for our sacred space together
when she was a child
mourning the dependency we had on each other
longing for the time so many parents in their old age crave
only to quickly realize,
yes,
she’s still in my womb
and has so many, many miles left to go–

Leave a Reply

