Resting

What yoga position have you
created this morning?
Something certainly new
like you–

I have moved clumsily
between cat’s stretch and
child’s pose and a few
cat cows
trying to relieve the pain
of my lower pack
and bring some solace
to the pulling in my
belly–

My other half rests next to me
stretching himself
eyes closed
then open
looking somewhere
far into the distance
one hand behind his head
another resting on his chest
red shirt

“What are you typing?”
He leans over to ask again
I haven’t answered
as I’m trying not to
lose this
train of

“Oh, a poem”

thought.

And so we’ve stretched
and scratched
and stretched and
stretched
waiting for the moment
the signal
to begin the day
in the best possible way
in my most humblest way
in gratitude for
rest–

2 thoughts on “Resting

Leave a Reply

