Taino Community

The beat of the drum calls me
Calls you
To this room
We are small
But big
Connecting to our ancestors
With a song
The smoke rises and falls
And rises again
Synchronicity abounds
As I close my eyes
And recall
That I have sat in
This same circle
Many many years ago
And I am transported from a
Brooklyn neighborhood
To the village where we farm
And prayer heals
Where families love
And children cheer
Where pain doesn’t manage
To clamp our beating hearts
And so
And I am so so very grateful
That I am a part of
This Taino
Community.

Leave a Reply

