Listening

Always looking for something to do
to fill up the void
to placate my obsession
I am mindful to take a moment
to just be
to listen to the sounds
of an autumn afternoon
in Midwood, Brooklyn
a truck drives by
a train rumbles past
a car beeps and
the next honks
as another car locks
a clock ticks in the distance
seconds pass and I’m still
listening
and then beyond the surface
there’s a little more
beneath the banal
and the mundane
there’s more
I’m quite certain it’s the heartbeat
inside the womb
the delicate symphony
playing out beyond
the tomb
drowned out now
by a creaking mattress
and two lovely cats
snuggling to keep warm
a leaf blower blows
as only a mother knows–
I’ll return to slumberland
if only I’ll go–

Leave a Reply

