Fear

I close my eyes

to see

what I cannot see

and watch as

the surface comes

to rise

the little children

coming late to class

my fear

encapsulated

in 30 seconds after

the late bell rings.

 

I open my eyes

again

in order to close them

once more

what can I see

this time?

Shining yellow

streams of

light

protrude

from the screen

into my

retina–

 

and then

I’ve collapsed

completely

into scary gray

heads

with big black

eyes

and I can’t

quite

write

this anymore

without looking

over my shoulder.

 

goodbye.

Leave a Reply

