Eyes are Windows

Waiting, crying, laughing, hiding

On the ride home
I said I like looking in peoples’ windows–
And you said
Yeah
It’s like you can see their hopes and dreams and wishes
And their own little world
So different from the next
You said
It’s like looking in the eyes of every person you meet

Except I don’t look in the eyes of everyone I meet
I don’t even look
At every person
Or any person
Anywhere sometimes
And that’s why I resort to looking at them
And what I think they might be like
Or what they think they might be like
Or what they think they should be like
Through their windows.

2 thoughts on “Eyes are Windows

  1. Ohhhhh! This one I’d like to print on silk and sew into my pillowcase…so I could press it to my face each night as sleep carries me back to my Self. Lovely, lovely work!

    Ron

Leave a Reply

