Honeymoon or The Overly Packed Backpack

We’re home
After a long journey
9 hours on a plane
And three movies later
And oh-
That one other hour ride from Naples to Venice
The wooden floors in the airport made
me feel like everything was so special
even if my back hurt a lot
from carrying around that overly packed
black backpack

You ask me who I’m talking to
and I say “no one”
and you say: what?!
and I say “no one!”
Except to myself
really
in this somewhat of a poem
too lazy to recall deeply what I felt on the coast
with metaphors and imagery and allusions
Knowing that this surface area
can be quite deep indeed
If I
just
let it.

Leave a Reply

