In the Park! Ave C and East 9th Street

A soft spring day

juxtaposed

against your bleak winter

I sat waiting for months!

to attend this metamorphosis

into adulthood

into summer

Solstice

to watch light

flutter off the tip

of this writing tool

as I pay homage to you–

Words

seasons

Leaves

goodbyes

Double meanings

and several tries

to make the transformation ONLY

mine

but it’s yours too!

It’s everyone’s!

And I overhear the workers say,

“I can’t wait for them to bloom!”

and I think:

Me too, buddy, me tooooooo.

Leave a Reply

