Buddha Poem

I stare at you, Buddha–

on my altar

the one I broke so, so many times

cleaning up the house,

the room,

knocking you over in a haze of doom and gloom.

 

You are my third one,

Dear Buddha

and I apologize to you now in a way that I’m not sure how to express…

 

A few unique faux flowers are held in your hands, on your lap

day in and day out

the same

expression on your face

a quiet grace and solitude I can emulate.

 

Pink lotus lamps sit and burn beside

your left and right

tonight

Your visage bears a blankness

A respite–

 

Before I drift off to bed, to sleep, to mourn a day, a weep…

I pray that I can lift you in my heart

and carry you within me

tomorrow

and then

forever

to

keep.

Leave a Reply

