Up Their Lazy Ass

Writing poetry should not be a chore

but I find myself

waiting until the last second

to get my thoughts down on paper.

I wait

until I see you

posting

photograph

after

black and white

photograph

And exclaim–

“I have 100 likes”–

while I barely

cracked the 50 mark

even with a 3 year old blog

And

don’t get me wrong–

this isn’t jealousy or envy

or insecurity

But a nail in

the collective

word coffin.

No one likes

a halfway

decent poem

and many would rather

continue to click

the visual stick

up their

lazy, wordless

ass.

Leave a Reply

